Photographing Rain

October 6, 2013

The piano music came first. It was written in 2010 breaking a long period of writer’s block. I played it to my friend Guy who encouraged me to take it forward. This and the piano on Tiny Moments, Tiny Omens, which disappeared amidst all the guitars. They were the first pieces written. Photographing Rain was the first piece to catch Julian’s ear, making him think we had something here. He went on to layer guitar upon guitar giving it the depth you hear. The title came before the words. I had in my head an image of so many people crying that it was like rain. And then the story came.

I love playing piano. My first instrument. Here’s a picture of me with one taken yesterday:

20131006-180542.jpg

Folly should be out soon. So sorry for its delay. I could explain but it’s too dull. Suffice to say my head is sore from bashing it against the wall.

When it does come out I will buy a new piano maybe to celebrate. Thinking of a Vogel by Schimmel.

2 Responses to “Photographing Rain”

  1. Chris B. Says:

    Loving it… will take solace in the fact that I am amongst the first in line for the release of what will surely be a gem. KOD’s music/lyrics/vibe have been swirling in my head since 1991; a short delay won’t change that, it’s just that soon it will become stronger, and we will all be celebrating with you. Thank you for the previews and updates and all the hard work that has gone into this most anticipated Folly.

  2. Dan Spench Says:

    Dear Patrick,
    I didn’t find out there was a new Kitchens record until this evening. I can’t begin to explain my excitement! KoD is one of the most underrated bands ever. Tomorrow will find me adventuring downtown to locate a copy. Is there any chance of shows to support its release? PLEASE come visit us in Los Angeles. I am a bit to young to have had the chance to ever see Kitchens play live. Now 31, I always hold out hope that maybe one day I’ll have the chance. At the very least, many many thank yous for another record. <3 .

    One of your biggest fans,
    Dan Spench

    Dipitinthemilk@yahoo.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

