Memories, like the corners of my mind

May 18, 2013

I can’t remember this but it sounds pretty good. kitchens live in Baltimore

9 Responses to “Memories, like the corners of my mind”

  1. Richie watts Says:

    Excellent…fond memories of gigs at Manchester international, Warrington legends, Buckley tivoli and Newcastle riverside !!

  2. mark Says:

    was that show around the time that kingmaker supported kod in the usa? brings back memories of supporting you at the Adelphi in hull 1st on, cowboys and aliens tour and 2nd on, feel my genie tour. looking forward to the new album
    mark

    • stephenhero Says:

      Yes mark it was when Kingmaker and Bleach toured us with us. Now, what was your band called? You must remember that I can’t remember.

      • mark Says:

        we where called suffocation, I also have a sieve like memory….where drug store main support for the cowboys and aliens tour? we reformed for the 25th birthday celebrations at the Adelphi and loved it, but once was enough.. I still see Myles and john from kingmaker but I haven’t seen Loz since he departed for spain.
        mark

  3. Joseph Says:

    Wish I could say I was there. I was living in Baltimore then and don’t remember ever hearing about you playing in town. Except when you supported Suzanne Vega, and that was at Johns Hopkins not Goucher. I had to go down to Washington DC for the amazing KOD shows at the old 9:30 club. I remember I had to talk myself into the first show … it was sold out. I guess I looked pitiful enough a guy on the door let me in.

  4. Chris Says:

    I was at the show at the old 9:30 Club on the Cowboys and Aliens tour, met Patrick briefly after the show and he signed my CD cover. Stood right in front, so close I could have worked Julian’s pedals for him! But I didn’t dare… that small club with its black walls and its black ceilings and its black smells… I saw many of my rock heroes there – Catherine Wheel, Trashcan Sinatras, Cracker (with Counting Crows opening for them!) – the new 9:30 Club is no slouch but that old club was unforgettable.

    I was also at the show where KOD opened for Suzanne Vega; I agree with Joseph as I’m pretty sure that was at Hopkins and not Goucher. I went to Loyola which is sort of in between the two, and I don’t recall a Goucher show happening, so maybe this video is from the Hopkins show? I will choose to believe it is, so I don’t have to live with the knowledge that I missed a show at Goucher. It’s great to relive it, sounds amazing.

    • Joseph Says:

      Chris … perfect description of the 9:30 ‘that small club with its black walls and its black ceilings and its black smells’. First thing I noticed walking into the new 9:30 was the fact that they didn’t bring that smell, whatever the hell that was, with them.
      I was always upfront at the KOD shows at the 9:30. but I took my position in front of Patrick. I remember that was the first time I’d seen them clearly live … the previous two tours were swathed in fog machines, but not so for this Cowboys and Aliens show.


Leave a Reply

