I believe

February 2, 2014

Last night’s concert was great, truly ecstatic. But it’s not all classical around here. There’s a need for other music too. And here’s something special. I was very late to this, but Talk Talk’s last two records as you probably know, are astonishing. Meditative, thoughtful, exploratory. It’s a great journey from the uplifting It’s My Life to this, I Believe in You. I can see why Mark Hollis stopped making records – stupid bloody music industry and it’s uncanny knack to dis-enchant the wizards – but it’s a shame as I suspect the record he would make now would be revelatory. Music does not belong to youth. Youth makes an invigorated version, but it’s only one jerky version of the dream.

One Response to “I believe”


  1. The last two lines there are magic, just as those two TT albums are. And good morning…


Leave a Reply

