Watch our planet circle

January 28, 2017

One Little Indian are releasing a box set of their Kitchens of Distinction’s back catalogue on March 3rd. This is a remastered CD collection of all four studio albums, B sides and the two BBC sessions we did. It’s available here:

http://www.pledgemusic.com/projects/kitchens-of-distinction-box-set
I wasn’t directly involved in this collection, as my historic relationship with OLI has not been good. I didn’t want to be party to something I didn’t have direct control over. That said, it’s a good job. It’s a mostly complete document of our time with the label, featuring great liner notes and photos. Missing tracks that some commentators are complaining about are either not owned by OLI, or due to band veto. We were never going to add in music that OLI didn’t own due to their inability to account to us. Tedious but practical. 

We had no control over format – so please direct your vinyl woes to OLI directly. http://www.indian.co.uk/pages/contact-us

These caveats aside I’m really glad that our OLI songs have been collected in this way. A better overview than Capsule. Though I’m sure some commentators will add their tuppenceworth.

The title is from the song In A Cave, which is probably my favourite moment with the band. 

Gigs? Of course not. Don’t be silly. And don’t be rude asking for something we can’t do. This really irks me. Like asking your dead relative to rise up and hug you. 

8 Responses to “Watch our planet circle”

  1. SimonH Says:

    Hi Stephen
    Have this on pre-order, looks really nice.
    Do you have any knowledge re the quality of the remastering, I know it’s a bit subjective, but am hoping it’s a sensitive non-brick walled job:)
    SimonH

  2. SimonH Says:

    That’s a relief, thanks.

  3. Eddy Says:

    Please don’t be offended or annoyed, no offence intended, some of us discovered your wonderful music rather late and would have loved to see you live, but of course and respect your reasons. Much love.

    • stephenhero Says:

      Hi eddy of course I understand that feeling. I wish I could take you back 25 years – we were a really good live. Usually. In fact I wish I could be that young and energetic again. Let’s all get on the Tardis. Replicating it now would be but pale imitation.

  4. Eddy Says:

    Fully understand. Just wanted you to know that live requests weren’t intentionally insensitive, but coming from a place of love of the music, anyway no sadness especially when great new stuff is coming out..

  5. mark Says:

    just because i was looking for a place to say this for some time: yes, kod were awesome live. saw the band 2 or 3 times in germany, they were wonderful shows. thank you.

  6. BluePedal Says:

    “stephenhero Says:

    February 12, 2017 at 7:48 pm
    Hi eddy of course I understand that feeling. I wish I could take you back 25 years – we were a really good live. Usually. In fact I wish I could be that young and energetic again. Let’s all get on the Tardis. Replicating it now would be but pale imitation.”

    What is it like looking at videos of yourself rockin’ it back around 90? Pushing 30 years ago now. 2017 Patrick has aged some from 1990 Patrick.

    And also, did you save a lot of money on wardrobe expenses by only bringing two shirts to wear on your US tour? That radio station shirt and the Greek statue shirt.

    I’ve always wanted to ask these questions. You can hit me now.


Leave a Reply

